Hello from London, Ontario

Introduce yourself here, tell us about your house and interests. Share some pictures.
Margaret75
Just Arrived

Hello from London, Ontario

Post by Margaret75 »

I have been lurking for a while. I am a single mother with a teenage daughter. I work as an accountant. I don't have a lot of experience working with my hands but I am learning.

I always loved old houses, even as a child.

I purchased my first home about a year and a half ago. According to the tax records, it was built in 1897 and is just under 1500 square feet. Research at the local library informed me that the first owner was a cooper named James Pelver.

Given that the neighbourhood I live in was (and still is) a predominantly working class neighbourhood, my house isn't as grand as those many of you have, but I love it anyways. It suits my needs perfectly and has the stained glass windows, hardwood floors, high baseboards, high ceilings and character that is an old house.

I am not sure what style it is, but it is a very common style for the area and is made of the yellow brick, which I am informed, London, Ontario is known for.

I look forward to sharing my love of old houses with other like-minded individuals.

This is the only photo I have from the outside. It was one of the photos that were posted online by the seller.

Attachments
House
House
2528477a.jpg (110.19 KiB) Viewed 810 times

JacquieJet
Shakes a cane at new house owners

Re: Hello from London, Ontario

Post by JacquieJet »

Hi! I'm from ON, too- just outside of Toronto though. What a lovely home! Would love to see pictures of the inside, too!
A house doesn't have to be large to be wonderful :)
1917-ish
Happy 100th birthday, house!!

mjt

Post by mjt »

I love your house's simplicity. There's a certain elegance to it and it needn't be big to be beautiful.

heartwood

Post by heartwood »

welcome!